Books

Le barman du Ritz

Synopsis

What’s the story?

Paris, 1940. Despite the Occupation, the prestigious Ritz Hotel has managed to remain open. Its bar becomes a favorite spot for Nazis eager for a taste of French refinement. Its celebrated barman, Frank Meier, is forced to adapt to this new clientele. But he is hiding a secret that no one can find out: he is Jewish.

With every word and smile, the atmosphere becomes more and more suffocating. Yet Frank refuses to flee. With the unwitting help of the Nazis, Frank eventually uncovers secrets that help keep him and his loved ones alive—especially Luciano, his young apprentice, and Blanche, wife of the director of the Ritz and Frank’s impossible love—both of whom are Jewish too.

Betrayal, lies, and backstabbing raise the stakes for the bartender—with Frank always just one step ahead of fate.

Publisher – Albin Michel

Contact: Philippe Collin

Rights Management Agency: Susanna Lea Associates 

 

3 reasons why you should adapt this book into a TV series:

  • For its story based on the internationally renowned barman Frank Meier
  • For its chilling and fascinating plot
  • For the way it uncovers the complex relationship between collaborationists and the Résistance

Author

A producer and author at France Inter for the past 20 years, Philippe Collin has retained a deep taste for history from his studies. Since 2021, he has been producing major historical podcast series that have been broadcasted by over ten million listeners. He is also a comic book scriptwriter, and published in 2018 LE VOYAGE DE MARCEL GROB, inspired by the story of his great-uncle during the Second World War, an album that has sold over 150,000 copies.

Philippe Collin

Author

French
Biography

A producer and author at France Inter for the past 20 years, Philippe Collin has retained a deep taste for history from his studies. Since 2021, he has been producing major historical podcast series that have been broadcasted by over ten million listeners. He is also a comic book scriptwriter, and published in 2018 LE VOYAGE DE MARCEL GROB, inspired by the story of his great-uncle during the Second World War, an album that has sold over 150,000 copies.

About
France
Philippe Collin
French
Biopic, Historical
Albin Michel
April 2024

More IPs

Books

Le barman du Ritz

Synopsis

De quoi ça parle ?

Paris, 1940. Malgré l’Occupation, le prestigieux hôtel Ritz a réussi à rester ouvert. Son bar devient le lieu de prédilection des nazis, désireux de goûter au raffinement français. Son célèbre barman, Frank Meier, est contraint de s’adapter à cette nouvelle clientèle. Mais il cache un secret que personne ne peut découvrir : il est juif.

Au fil des mots et des sourires, l’atmosphère devient de plus en plus étouffante. Pourtant, Frank refuse de fuir. Avec l’aide involontaire des nazis, il finit par découvrir des informations confidentielles qui lui permettent de rester en vie, et de protéger ses proches, en particulier Luciano, son jeune apprenti, et Blanche, la femme du directeur du Ritz, dont il est épris.

Trahisons, mensonges et coups de poignard dans le dos font monter les enchères pour le barman, Frank ayant toujours une longueur d’avance sur le destin.

Maison d’Edition – Albin Michel

Contact : Philippe Collin

Agence de gestion des droits : Susanna Lea Associated

3 raisons d’adapter ce livre en série TV :

  • Pour son histoire inspirée du barman à la renommée internationale, Frank Meier
  • Pour son intrigue glaçante et fascinante 
  • Pour sa mise en lumière des relations complexes entre les collaborationnistes et la Résistance.

L'auteur

Producteur et auteur à France Inter depuis 20 ans, Philippe Collin produit depuis 2021 de grandes séries historiques en podcast, suivies par plus de dix millions d’auditeurs. Il est également scénariste de BD et a publié LE VOYAGE DE MARCEL GROB (Futuropolis, 2018), qui s’est vendu à plus de 150 000 exemplaires et a été lauréat du Prix des Lycées au FIBD d’Angoulême. Son second album, LA PATRIE DES FRÈRES WERNER (Futuropolis,2020) a figuré dans les sélections du Prix BD Fnac – France Inter et du Prix Landerneau.

Philippe Collin

Auteur

Français
Biographie

Producteur et auteur à France Inter depuis 20 ans, Philippe Collin produit depuis 2021 de grandes séries historiques en podcast, suivies par plus de dix millions d’auditeurs. Il est également scénariste de BD et a publié LE VOYAGE DE MARCEL GROB (Futuropolis, 2018), qui s’est vendu à plus de 150 000 exemplaires et a été lauréat du Prix des Lycées au FIBD d’Angoulême. Son second album, LA PATRIE DES FRÈRES WERNER (Futuropolis,2020) a figuré dans les sélections du Prix BD Fnac – France Inter et du Prix Landerneau.

À propos
France
Philippe Collin
Français
Biopic, Historique
Albin Michel
Avril 2024

Plus d' IPs